The UCI Road World Championships

The UCI Road World Championships is the cycling's annual world greatest sporting event. To be UCI World Champion and wear the coveted UCI rainbow yersey is something every cyclist dream of.

The UCI Road World Championships is a yearly event that takes place in September (in October 2016 it was held in Doha, Qatar). The event The event features 12 races over 9 days, several cyclosportive events and a major cultural programme. There are three diciplines; Team Time Trial for the professional UCI Teams, individual Time Trials and finally the Road Races.

Key facts about the UCI Road World Championships

3 diciplines (Team Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and Road Race)

12 races

9 days

500.000 specators

6.000-7.000 accredited

300 million TV-viewers

1.500 voluteers


Coming UCI Road World Championships

2017 Bergen (Norway)   Official website
2018 Innsbruck (Austria) Official website
2019 Yorkshire (Great Britain) Official website


Previous UCI Road World Championships

2016   Doha (Qatar)  
2015   Richmond, Virginia (USA)  
2014   Ponferrada (Spain)

2013   Toscana (Italy)

2012   Limburg (The Netherlands)

2011   Copenhagen (Denmark)

2010   Melbourne (Australia)



Sven Erik Bystrøm and Kristoffer Skjerping will be two of the local favourites in Bergen 2017. In Ponferrada they were both podium finishers with Sven Erik Bystrøm beeing world champion.

Photo: Scanpix

Main sponsors

Official Sponsors

Bergen 2017 Institutional Partners

Official Suppliers